Setting in the everyday world.

My post on ‘Settings’ on our writer’s blog.

Crackin' The WIP

By P.A.Thompson

It’s ‘Setting’ week on Crackin’ the WiP.

Unlike most of my fellow bloggers/writers on this blog, I don’t have world building to do – or world borrowing. My WiP is not in the fantasy or science fiction category, it takes place in contemporary times. I have two places of interest: Afghanistan and Washington State, USA.

So what I’ll focus on here is scene setting. Afghanistan, so far, is mostly quick flashbacks and implied references. Washington is the here and now. Having a setting is good in the beginning of sections, letting the reader know where and when we are.

The current first paragraph (it used to be the second) of my WiP:

Marty hated driving at night now. Willie had died driving their LMTV on a night like this – no moon, clear, stars glittering like muzzle flashes. But that was months ago and thousands of miles…

View original post 758 more words

Talk to me, Comment here!

