“An opening line should invite the reader to begin the story…”

From our writers blog…

Crackin' The WIP

By     D.M. Gutierrez

“An opening line should invite the reader to begin the story. It should say: Listen. Come in here. You want to know about this.”  –Stephen King (from an interview with Joe Fassler of The Atlantic)

Last week P.A. Thompson posted about opening lines. I threw in a few of my favorites in the comments, but I didn’t mention my own. That’s because my biggest struggle in the process of my WIP is the beginning. I’ve rewritten the opening chapter (and I mean completely rewritten it) probably 10 times.openTreasure

Should it be an epigraph? a prologue? a chapter? What is going to catch a reader’s eye the best? I really don’t know. So I’ve written it every which way I can think of. Some critiquers like it one way, others another. Some say, chuck the whole thing and start with Chapter Two.

I…

View original post 644 more words

Talk to me, Comment here!

