“If I didn’t know the ending of a story, I wouldn’t begin.”

From our group writers blog…

Crackin' The WIP

By  D.M. Gutierrez

The full quote is:  “If I didn’t know the ending of a story, I wouldn’t begin.  I always write my last line, my last paragraph, my last page first.”

If I had read that bit of wisdom  from Kathrine Anne Porter earlier, I might have saved myself two years of wasted time. A true pantser*, I started my WIP, Sylvellin Sending, without knowing where I was going.  Just set Sylvellin on the road, I thought,  and follow her around. That was my strategy.

Katherine Anne Porter Katherine Anne Porter

But as with many journeys without any destination in mind, I soon stalled. Twelve chapters in (12 chapters seem to be my traditional stopping place), I quit. What now?  Okay, Sylvellin is out in the world, wandering around aimlessly.  NOW WHAT?

Then NaNoWriMo forced me to write “the last line, the last paragraph, the last page,” and every aspect of…

View original post 214 more words

Talk to me, Comment here!

