Which beginning do you like?

The title is a link to the original page…

The Dog

I stood at the gas pump, hit the button for the cheap stuff, and let out a sigh.  It had been too long between stops.  Dark clouds hung low and the air felt stale; it smelled like dirty rain and old gasoline.  I locked the nozzle on full, leaned against the camper shell, and that’s when I saw the dog.  She trotted around the back end of my truck, sat down on the other side of the hose and gave me the look.

She held her head tilted, her eyes were bright and unblinking, and her ears stood at attention, though the tips folded over.  She looked young and clean, delicate but not small, around thirty five pounds I guessed.

****************

Or this:

The Dog

I stood at the gas pump, hit the button for the cheap stuff, and let out a sigh.  It had been too long between stops.  Dark clouds hung low and the air felt stale; it smelled like dirty rain and old gasoline.  I locked the nozzle on full, leaned against the camper shell, and that’s when I saw her.  She walked around the back end of my truck, stood on the other side of the hose and gave me the look.

She held her head tilted, her eyes were bright and unblinking, and her ears stood at attention, though the tips folded over.  She looked young, clean, and delicate, around thirty five pounds I guessed, a good size for a dog.

2 thoughts on “Which beginning do you like?

  1. Anonymous

    Pat, I like the longer description, because you make me see her, but it would work better for me if it were a little plainer. Also, I don’t think you know what merle is yet, right?

    And I want some bread!!!!!!!!!!! Then she can blog about it…:<)

    Reply

Talk to me, Comment here!

