Tough when a family member is hurting.

Gall Bladder.

Seems like a stupid name.  Maybe I shouldn’t insult it because if can cause such pain.

Who has suggestions for a non/low fat diet?

I know more about the gall bladder than I ever thought I would need to know.

Sensitivity alert here – going to get into an icky area.

Bile… I never thought about it, but you know when someone vomits enough so almost nothing comes out, just bile.  Evil smelling ugly stuff.  Why is it even there?  It’s the last stuff to come out, why?

From the little I know, the liver produces bile.  Then it is stored in the gall bladder until it is needed.

When is it needed?

Why?

What does it do?

Bile is used to help digest fat, the animal fat that you eat.  When your body recognizes that you’ve eaten some of this fat it sends a message to the liver for bile.  The gall bladder is notified and is supposed to squeeze out the bile to the common duct, that leads to the intestines.

When the gall bladder is not right, this causes pain.  And it can be intense pain.

Some people live with pain like this for their whole lives.  I heard a story of a lady, grandmother, who is 79, just had her gall bladder removed.  She’d been suffering pain from it for over 40 years… and now she can eat without pain afterwards.  Why did she wait so long to do something about it?

Anyway, I’m tired… I haven’t been writing for a couple of days and I’m falling behind in my classes.  Today I’m going to try to catch up.  But I have shopping to do and I need a newspaper.  Blah blah blah…

I did write a bit about the waiting room in the hospital, so I did use some of the time profitably…

 

2 thoughts on “Tough when a family member is hurting.

  1. Pete Denton

    I was on a low fat diet and achieved my target weight back in 2011. At Christmas I over indulged. Who doesn’t? On Boxing Day, my tradition is to have bubble and squeak, a version of it at least, chopped up left-overs fried. FRIED. What was I thinking. I spent the early hours of the next morning in AGONY and the following day at the doctors. After some scans and test and what-have-you, the doctor said I’d passed a gall stone.

    I’m back on the low-fat diet, reading the fat content of everything I buy, it’s not much fun, but beats having surgery and if I keep most things low-fat, I can still have the occasional treat of chocolate, just in moderation. It can be done and I figure the surgery could go wrong.

    Reply
    1. PAT Post author

      Thanks for the info. The pain has been coming with every feeding, so we’re pretty interested in the surgery. We figure the negatives are outweighed by the positives… as in, no more pain.

      Reply

Talk to me, Comment here!

