A small tale of two dogs and the garage. (And birds)

We keep our dog food in the garage as well as our bird food.  At feeding time, Bode always shows me where the door to the garage is in case I’ve forgotten.

Bode showing, not telling, me where the food is stored.

Bode showing, not telling, me where the food is stored.

But this story isn’t about Bode (for once).  This story is about Stella and a little bit about Abby.  And about feeding the birds.

DSCN3760_012

Bird station 1, the shelf outside the kitchen window. Other stations are on the deck railing and hanging feeders.

This morning after I fed the pack and the wife had come to life, we worked on some morning chores.  The wife noticed that our food stations for the birds were empty.

She asked me to bring some bird food in from the garage.

Bird Stations 2 &3.  The winter feeder and the deck post.

Bird Stations 2 &3. The winter feeder and the deck post.

No problem, I took the pitcher and headed for the garage.  Bode led the way to the door, he can’t open it so I did, and out I went.  Stella and Bode, being companion dogs and nosy, came out with me.  I went out to the patio mix bucket and got a big scoop.

Close up of station 3, the top post below the hanging feeder.

Close up of station 3, the top post below the hanging feeder.

The wife had forgotten about the birds for now and had headed for the shower.  I left the bird food on the counter, finished my chores and came into the office to check my e-mail.  Bode kept me company.

Bode keeping me company under the desk.

Bode keeping me company under the desk.

The wife finished her shower and came out to let me know it was my turn.  I got up and Bode followed.  The wife asked me where Stella was, usually she’s with me.  I looked around, I called her, but no Stella.  I checked the deck and out back, no Stella.

Did you leave her in the garage the wife asked?  I haven’t been out there I replied (forgetting about the bird food).  But I went and cracked the garage door and called Stella again.

Door to garage

Door to garage

Ooops, Stella nose.

Ooops, Stella nose.

So, Stella has been locked in the garage for a half an hour or so.

Not a sound from her, she just waited by the door.

Free!

Free!

She didn’t get into the trash bag that was sitting out there, waiting to be transferred to the outside can.  She didn’t try to get into the dog food container.  She didn’t try to get to the bird food, or anything else out there.

She just waited.

When I let her in/out, she joyfully greeted me and thanked me for letting her in.  No blame, no guilt trip, no sadness — just joy to be with us.

But I did feel bad and silly, I hadn’t remembered that she’d followed me out to the garage and didn’t make sure she got back inside.  She’s very polite and not pushy, like Bode, and saw I was shutting the door before she got through and stopped and waited till I opened it again.

Now, the little bit about Abby.  Abby has also been left in the garage.  Remember Abby is the deaf, mostly blind one.  When she is left in the garage, she tips the food bucket, rips apart any trash bags left out there, and BARKS (or garks as we call her weird deaf dog bark) to be let back in.

I guess that’s where I was headed.  It’s just weird that the hearing dog sits and waits patiently until I look for her, but the deaf dog is the one that knows if she barks, we’ll come find her and let her out.

And, I’m done rambling…

One thought on “A small tale of two dogs and the garage. (And birds)

Talk to me, Comment here!

