Writing as a challenge cont.

So off I started, merrily, writing a novel.  Having no clue what I was doing.

Holly turned out to be a member,  er officer, er president, of the Lewis County Writers Guild.

The guild’s critique group meets every 2nd and 4th Friday of the month and the Guild itself meets on the 3rd Friday of the month.  So, on the 2nd Friday of November, LeeAnn and I went down to the Matrix to sit in on the critique.  We arrived a little late because I thought that the start time was the beginning of a social half-hour.  We had eaten dinner across the street at the DevilFish Pub, that’s a great place too.

We walked into the front room and someone was reading.  We got offered chairs and sat, trying not to intrude.  It was an interesting evening, I had never been to a ‘critique’ session.  Here’s how it worked, one person read for 5 to 15 minutes and then it went around the table with people offering their comments.  It was a polite group.  After everyone commented, all the notes people had taken were also passed over to the reader.  We were allowed to comment too.  LeeAnn is really good at critique, she knows the feel of a story and gets right to the point of the good and bad.  Mostly I said “I agree with her.”

This critique night was where I first started to learn ‘how’ to write.  The comments started me thinking about how a story should be written.  We met good people and some of them were very knowledgeable, I knew I had found a place to learn.

Talk to me, Comment here!

